May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read the full disclosure.

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

It’s that time of the month again…

YES! Ipsy Glam Bag review time!

If you’re not familiar with Ipsy, it is a monthly beauty subscription that sends you 5 beauty products in an Ipsy glam bag based on your preferences each month. The products range between deluxe-sized and full-sized and they come in a very cute makeup bag! I really love Ipsy because it is a great way to expand your makeup collection for cheap. It is only $10 a month with free shipping and it allows you to explore new products and brands you probably would never try on your own.

I am obsessed with this subscription because I love the super cute makeup bags they send and I love getting to use new products every month. I am very excited to share with you what I received this month and give you an in-depth May Ipsy Glam Bag review!

This month’s bag:

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

This month’s bag design is inspired by ice cream and the summer weather — my fav! I LOVE this bag and it is one of my favorites I’ve received from Ipsy. It is a plastic, water-resistant, see-through pouch with an ice cream cone and popsicle design. I am super obsessed with it and I will definitely be using this bag at the beach and by the pool this summer!

Now onto the products —

pur~lisse
BB Tinted Moist Cream SPF 30 in Light or Medium – 0.34 oz (≈ $8 value)

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

This product is a primer, tinted moisturizer, foundation, AND sunscreen all rolled into one. I love BB creams for those days when you just wanna have a simple, quick look. It is super lightweight and creamy and is perfect for all skin types.

I loved this product so much! I’m a huge fan of BB creams because I like to use them for work or when I’m running late and don’t have time for an entire makeup look. You can also use this BB cream as a primer underneath your foundation for complete coverage. It contains SPF 30 so you can also use this if you’re going to be out in the sun to protect your skin. Perfect for the “no makeup” makeup look.

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Pure Brazilian
Shine Ultra Light Nourishing Oil – 0.5 oz ($3.25 value)May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

I don’t have very much to say about this product, to be completely honest. Ipsy has sent me a few hair oils back to back. While I love them, it’s gotten to be a bit too many and they are all starting to feel the same. I did not notice any difference between this hair oil and the one I got last month.

With that being said, here are the deets about this nourishing oil:

  • It’s made out of several different oils such as Camellia Oil from Japan and Abyssinian Oil from Africa
  • It protects your hair from heat damage and split ends (I definitely need that!)
  • It’s 100% vegan and has absolutely no sulfates, salt, or gluten added.

 

The great part about these hair oils is that a little goes a long way, which makes these Ipsy samples last a good while! Ipsy offers a few ways you can use this oil. You can use it to tame flyaways for ponytails, adding a boost of shine to your ends, and using it to make a DIY Sea Salt Spray!

Urban Decay
Afterglow in Sin – 2.4 g ($9.17 value)

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

This highlighter is GORGEOUS. It doesn’t have chunks of glitter which is a plus – so it’s perfect for a beautiful, yet subtle highlight. It’s lightweight and is a champagne color that applies very easily. This UD highlighter creates such a natural glow! All it takes is one swipe to get that beautiful champagne sheen on your skin.

This is my first time trying a highlighter from UD but I will definitely be looking into more from them in other shades. Perfect for the summer time!

CAILYN Cosmetics
Pure Lust Extreme Matte Tint + Velvet in #32 Practicable – FULL SIZE ($19 value)

May 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

I love matte liquid lipsticks and I absolutely love nude shades like this one. It’s described as a cinnamon-nude that is completely opaque and provides full coverage. I loved this color and the texture was amazing! It applies like a mousse-like lipstick, very much like the NYX Cosmetics Lip Lingeries. The wand is very flexible which was super cool to see. It makes applying the lipstick soooo much easier.

I wore this lipstick out a few times and for several hours and it was long-lasting. The only thing I didn’t like about this product was that it did feel very drying on my lips and the formula eventually flaked and cracked. I did apply Chapstick before putting the lipstick on and it still felt dry so I probably would not use this lipstick very much. I am going to try it out with the Tarte Maracuja oil underneath and see if that makes any difference.

Luxie Beauty
Luxie Dreamcatcher Precision Foundation Brush 660 – FULL SIZE ($23 value)

Last but not least, is the Luxie Beauty Foundation Brush. I am obsessed with Luxie Brushes so I knew I would love this. This brush is a pretty periwinkle, full-sized foundation brush called Dreamcatcher (super cute name!) It’s perfect for liquid, cream, or powder foundations as well as concealers, highlighters, and bronzers. It’s an all-in-one brush that is 100% vegan and cruelty-free. I highly recommend any brushes from Luxie. They never disappoint!


The Verdict

I loved most of the products I received in this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag. There were two full sized products in this month’s bag and the bag had an overall value of about $62.42, which is AMAZING. This is well above the $10 I paid for the subscription. This is not including the value of the actual makeup bag! The bag had great value this month and Ipsy ALWAYS gives me products worth more than the $10 I paid, which that alone is definitely worth getting the subscription.

What is your favorite product that you received this month?

MAY 2017 IPSY GLAM BAG REVIEW

Related post:  April 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review
Follow:

2 Comments

  1. May 22, 2017 / 2:28 pm

    I LOVE THE ICE CREAM BAG!!!

    sophiaaxo.wordpress.com

  2. June 14, 2017 / 10:21 am

    Love your review! Your blog is so informative and interesting!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *