August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read the full disclosure.

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Once a month I publish an Ipsy Glam Bag review and it’s that time again!

If you’re not familiar with Ipsy, it is a monthly beauty subscription that sends you 5 beauty products in an Ipsy glam bag based on your preferences each month. The products range between deluxe-sized and full-sized and they come in a very cute makeup bag! I really love Ipsy because it is a great way to expand your makeup collection for cheap. It is only $10 a month with free shipping and it allows you to explore new products and brands you probably would never try on your own.

I am obsessed with this subscription because I love the super cute makeup bags they send and I love getting to use new products every month. I am very excited to share with you what I received this month and give you an in-depth August Ipsy Glam Bag review!

This month’s Ipsy bag:

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

This month’s bag theme is Good Vibes Only.  The bag’s design features a super cute design and is inspired by sparkly summer sunsets, the magic of the universe, and free spirits everywhere.

Now onto the items –

First Aid Beauty
Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay1 oz ($5 value)

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

First up in my Ipsy glam bag is the Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay from First Aid Beauty! I loooved this cleanser. It’s a jewel-red color and the color comes from the natural shade of its powerhouse ingredient, red clay. This cleanser is awesome because is has no artificial colorants and absolutely no fragrances added. It contains rosemary oil which gives it a super sweet scent you can’t resist.

I used this cleanser for over a week and I was in love! It’s super gentle yet powerful. Powerful enough to remove dirt, oil, and even the toughest makeup — but not too strong that it leaves your skin feeling dry and stripped. It’s the perfect combination and leaves your skin feeling clean and fresh.

theBalm Cosmetics
theBalm Voyage Vol. 2 Eyeshadow in Willkommen – 0.57 g ($2 value)

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Next is this eyeshadow sample from theBalm! It’s the exclusive shade Willkommen from theBalm Voyage Vol. 2 palette. I already love theBalm and get super excited whenever I get samples from the in my Ipsy glam bag. I am seriously never disappointed with their products. TheBalm is amazing because of their triple-milled pigments and anti-aging ingredients plus they are cruelty-free.

Willkommen is gorgeous because it’s a deep caramel shade. It’s super light-weight and blendable and perfect for boho or fall looks! Pigmentation was crazy good on this shadow and the packaging is so cute! Definitely a win with this one.

Seraphine Botanicals
LIQUID COAL WATERPROOF LIQUID LINERFULL SIZE ($22 value)

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

I love Seraphine Botanicals, but I really wished I could love this product. I received the Liquid Coal Waterproof Liquid Liner in my bag this month and I wasn’t a huge fan. Don’t get me wrong. There’s nothing wrong with this product at all! It’s a felt-tip liner with a super precise tip and has pretty good staying power. Plus it’s vegan and cruelty-free which I love.

I am just personally not a fan of felt-tip liners. I’m a liquid liner type of gal. I find these types of liners much harder to work with. Maybe I don’t apply it correctly (who knows?!) I just don’t find them as easy to work with as liquid liners. My favorite go-to liquid liners are NYX Matte Liquid Liner and Rimmel Glam’ Eyes Precise Design Liquid Eyeliner. I find they create thinner, sharper lines and definitely do not need to be layered.

Related post:  My Favorite Everyday Beauty Products

However, if you’re a felt-tip kinda girl I would definitely give this eyeliner at least a try and see for yourself. I can’t say too much on whether or not this product is a hit or miss since I am not a huge fan of these types of eyeliners in the first place. I can say that I am never disappointed by Seraphine Botanicals so it’s safe to assume this eyeliner might be really awesome!

Hikari Cosmetics
Shimmer Bronzer in FlushFULL SIZE ($17 value)

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

YAY. My favorite product in the whole bag. The Shimmer Bronzer in Flush by Hikari Cosmetics. Man, I cannot say how much I loved this product. It’s really different than any bronzer I’ved tried before because it has so many colors!

This bronzer is basically like getting five pigments in one. You can use each color separately as blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, etc. You name it. Or you can swirl your brush over the entire palette for a gorgeous blend of sun-kissed shimmer. My favorite way to use it is to use all the colors together. It’s unique but totally flawless.

It’s super shimmery so if you’re not into that, I would skip this product. If you’re anything like me and are obsessed with shimmer, I’d definitely pick this product up. You will love it!

Paula Dorf Cosmetics
Mini Universal Brow Pencil in Taupe0.02 oz ($10 value)

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Last but not least, I received the Mini Universal Brow Pencil in Taupe from Paula Dorf Cosmetics. This pencil was pretty darn good. I’m usually not a fan of pencils, but the color was spot on with my brows and easy to use. The formula is super blendable and it’s makes any brows look good.

It’s got great staying power and has the precision to create natural-looking brows!

Annnnd.. HERE ARE THE SWATCHES:

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

And that’s everything I got in my glam bag this month!

THE VERDICT

I loved most of the products I received in this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag. There were two full sized products in this month’s bag and the bag had an overall value of about $56, which is AMAZING and well above the $10 I paid for the subscription. I received a good amount of full-size products which is a major score — that doesn’t happen too often. The value is not including the value of the actual makeup bag either! The bag had great value this month and Ipsy ALWAYS gives me products worth more than the $10 I paid, which that alone is definitely worth getting the subscription.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE

You didn’t think I’d let you go without talking about the GOLDEN ENVELOPE, did ya?!

2 words: Ipsy Cash

I’ve read here and there that the people who received the gold mailers are actually part of a test group being offered that is featuring the new Ipsy cash program! And I finally received one.

The way that is works is simple:

Ipsy Shopper Cash Back

How awesome is that?! Who doesn’t love cash back??

(Seriously, who?! If you want to find out more ways to earn cash back, check out my post all about it: 6 iPhone Apps That Will Help You Earn More Cash)

I’ve already made my first purchase with it!

What did you get in your Ipsy Glam Bag this month and have you tried out Ipsy Cash yet?

August 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *