April 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read the full disclosure.

April 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review

Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that sends you 5 beauty products in an Ipsy glam bag based on your preferences each month. The products range between deluxe-sized and full-sized and they come in a very cute makeup bag! I really love Ipsy because it is a great way to expand your makeup collection for cheap. It is only $10 a month with free shipping and it allows you to explore new products and brands you probably would never try on your own.

I am obsessed with this subscription because I love the super cute makeup bags they send and I love getting to use new products every month. I am very excited to share with you what I received this month and give you an in-depth April Ipsy glam bag review!

This month’s bag:

April 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag

This month’s bag has a festival, sideshow ticket theme. This wasn’t my favorite Ipsy bag that I’ve ever received. At first, when I was the sneak peek of the bag design I was disappointed but it has actually grown on me and I am starting to like it much more! The material is like a faux leather material with a fuzzy inside.

I’m not gonna lie though, I am totally disappointed that I didn’t get the Lisa Frank brush. I wanted it sooooo bad, but what I did get was pretty awesome too.

Now for what came in the bag —

OFRA Cosmetics
Rendezvous Blush – FULL SIZE ($12 value)

OFRA Cosmetics Rendezvous Blush

I loved this blush! The shade is gorgeous and totally unlike any other blushes I’ve tried before. It’s a bit dark and I usually use more pink toned blushes, but it is a great change compared to what I normally use. This is my first OFRA product and I really like it. I definitely want to try out more products from them in the future. I’ll have to get an empty palette to stick this pan in!

Since I did think it was dark, I tried to use very little of the product. Above is a swatch on my arm so you have an idea of what it looks like. Ipsy’s website describes the shade as a classic, cool-toned, soft rose.

Elizabeth Mott
Show Me Your Glow Shimmer Shadow & Highlighter – 0.7 g ($1.75 value)

Elizabeth Mott Highlighter

Next up is the Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Glow Shimmer Shadow and Highlighter! This highlighter is very pretty. I wish the sample was a tad bit bigger though. It looks like an eyeshadow (which you can also use this for!) It’s shimmery without being too shimmery. It is not glittery at all and is very subtle which is perfect for an everyday look.

This would be perfect as a highlighter for natural looks, an eyeshadow, or to highlight the inner corners of your eyes. It has no fallout and applies very easily. For the swatch shown below, I used my finger but it applies great with a brush as well. I really like this highlighter. However, I was not super impressed. I have other shadows like this one. I also have other highlighters that I would probably reach for first before this one. But it’s great for those of you that may be looking for subtle beginner highlighters.

Related post:  7 Life-Changing Beauty Hacks Every Girl Should Know

Elizabeth Mott Highlighter

defy & Inspire
Wear Resistant Nail Lacquer in Paradise Island – FULL SIZE ($7 value)

Defy Nail Polish

I also received the defy & Inspire nail polish in the shade Paradise Island. My favorite color is this shade of blue so I was excited to see I would be getting this nail polish. I’ve never heard of this nail polish brand before, so I was surprised to see you can easily pick it up at Target! The nail polish is wear resistant and does not chip as easily as some other nail polishes do.

THEORIE
Marula Oil Transforming Hair Serum – 0.34 oz ($2.60 value)

I loooove receiving haircare products in my Ipsy Glam Bag! This serum smells amazing. I apply it to the ends of my hair while damp and brush it through. Then I dry my hair with a blow dryer or naturally. This product leaves my hair so soft and shiny and tames any frizz or flyaways.

I was worried it would leave my hair looking oily but that was not the case with this serum. I would have liked it to have a dropper or a pump to put the serum in my hand first but it is just a bottle you pour into your hand. I’m a huge fan of that part since it’s easy to pour out too much by accident.

ColourPop Cosmetics
Crème Gel Pencil in DTLA – FULL SIZE ($5 value)

DTLA Colourpop Gel Liner

Lastly, was the Colourpop Creme Gel Liner — the showstopper. This eyeliner came in the shade DTLA which is a dark navy blue color. Anyone who knows me knows that I completely obsess over anything from Colourpop. I own so many products from them, I couldn’t believe they were sending me Colourpop in my glam bag! I knew for a fact I would love this product since I already have it in other shades from them.

The eyeliner has amazing pigmentation and applies on very creamy. It is long-wearing and gorgeous. The only thing I recommend with this eyeliner is to not press down too hard or it can easily break apart. Other than that, it’s such high-quality eyeliner! Here’s a swatch:

Colourpop DTLA Swatch


The Verdict

I loved most of the products I received in this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag. I wasn’t a fan of the bag design at first, but I am definitely liking it a lot more over time. There were three full sized products in this month’s bag and the bag had an overall value of about $28.35, which is pretty low compared to most months for Ipsy. However, this is well above the $10 I paid for the subscription. This is not including the value of the makeup bag. The bag still had great value this month and Ipsy ALWAYS gives me products worth more than the $10 I paid, which that alone is definitely worth getting the subscription.

What is your favorite product that you received this month?

April 2017 Ipsy Glam Bag Review

Follow:

7 Comments

  1. April 27, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    What a great box, I love everything! I also haven’t tried anything from OFRA yet but that blush seems lovely!

  2. April 27, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    This looks like a great subscription to have. I used to have Birchbox but the products were too similar each month and weren’t tailored to my profile like they’re meant to be! Cute bag and I’m loving the nail colour. Great post xx

  3. April 28, 2017 / 11:22 am

    I actually love this bag – so that’s great that it’s growing on you. I keep thinking I should subscribe to Ipsy. Someday soon I’m sure. That nail color is beautiful!

    -Lauren

  4. April 28, 2017 / 11:28 am

    I’ve never tried Ipsy, but you got some great goodies this month! I think the bag is too cute, and that blush looks so pretty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *